Exquisite Captive

Exquisite Captive

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:

For fans of Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke and Bone series and Leigh Bardugo's Grisha Trilogy comes the first book in the Dark Caravan Cycle, a modern fantasy-adventure trilogy about a gorgeous, fierce eighteen-year-old jinni who is pitted against two magnetic adversaries, both of whom want her--and need her--to make their wishes come true.

Nalia is a jinni of tremendous ancient power, the only survivor of a coup that killed nearly everyone she loved. Now in hiding on the dark caravan--the lucrative jinni slave trade between Arjinna and Earth, where jinn are forced to grant wishes and obey their human masters' every command--she'd give almost anything to be free of the golden shackles that bind her to Malek, her handsome, cruel master, and his lavish Hollywood lifestyle. Enter Raif, the enigmatic leader of Arjinna's revolution and Nalia's sworn enemy. He promises to release Nalia from her master so she can return to her ravaged homeland and free her imprisoned brother. There's just one catch: for Raif's unbinding magic to work, Nalia must gain possession of her bottle . . . and convince the dangerously persuasive Malek that she truly loves him.

Publisher: New York :, Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,, 2014.
Copyright Date: ©2014
ISBN: 9780062318565
Characteristics: 463 pages :,map ;,22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
artemishi
Jan 05, 2015

I didn't realize, when I read Exquisite Captive, that it's the first in a series. It reads like a standalone, with enough backstory and forward-moving tension to feel self-contained. And then the cliffhanger ending happened, so I'm relieved there will be more.

The fantasy world (overlaying our contemporary) is influenced by Arabian folklore and jinni mythology, which makes it exotic and enticing. The main character is an 18-year old female jinni who has been enslaved since she was 15 years old. This is important because, as we start into her narrative, her temperamental, rich-as-sin master has shifted from cruel to seductive (and ew).

At first, the themes smacked of insta-love, with a love triangle. I was fully prepared to put it down based on that alone BUT I'm glad I didn't. Because Demetrios turns the trope in its head, with elements of Stockholm Syndrome. It was nice to see the abusive/manipulative relationship elements from the PoV of the young woman caught within the isolation of it. It's so easy to paint villain vs. hero but as anyone who has been in this kind of controlling relationship (magic aside) can tell you, what Nalia experiences is pretty much spot-on.

I also really appreciate that Demetrios did her research on the current slave trade and human trafficking, Arabic terms, jinni mythology, etc. for this book. Book 2 comes out in September and I'll definitely be picking it up. Oh, and there's plenty of diversity in it- yay!

I recommend this for fans of contemporary fantasy, Middle Eastern mythology and folklore, high-stakes adventure stories, and magic. There may be parts you raise an eyebrow to, but stick with it- I promise the few wrinkles even themselves out.

k
Kyanite
Nov 16, 2014

Not a bad premise, but the execution fails to live up. Most of the relationships are just not believable.

k
Kelsenator
Aug 16, 2014

I received an advanced copy of this and to be honest I stopped at 50%. It was so boring, had huge info dumps and the story never got anywhere. Just letting those know so they aren't surprised, I've heard many people loved it though.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at my library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top